Diaryland

Other Diaries

Profile
Email
All EntriesLatest Entry



2005-02-09 - 2:55 p.m.

I doubt if anyone would believe me, knowing my apparent distaste for birds.

But, I have become one.

Flapping and flapping, banging against the wires.

Squawking and letting feathers loose.

A madwoman with tangled hair and beady black mirrors for eyes.

I have become her. Pecking at seed, pecking at hands, pecking at wounds.

I am this foolish thing. That will sit on a stone, waiting for it to hatch.

With feet not meant to touch the earth, at least not for long.

I have never identified with birds, yet here I am.

A Little Bird. Trying to obey the rules of this thing that surrounds me. This thing that I can't understand.

(Sorry Andie, I ain't hatin' on the birds, truly.)

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com