Diaryland

Other Diaries

Profile
Email
All EntriesLatest Entry



2003-02-25 - 10:31 p.m.

Most of you already read Actiongrl and Aloradream so there is really no point in me re-telling things.

Not that my perspective isn't unique.

What I recall off the top of my head:

Being dropped off on the wrong part of Khao San Road at 2 a.m. with a heavy backpack and the name of a guest house: "My House Guest House." The air was heavy with humidity and the streets were literally PACKED with people. Foreigners and native Bangkok hipsters in designer clothes were talking, laughing, drinking and eating from one of the hundreds of stands that line the street AT 2 A.M.!!!! I wandered in concentric circles around the streets looking for "My House" for about 45 minutes before I finally paid someone to take me there in his Tuk Tuk(like a motorized tricycle with a seating area welded to the back...as Andie or Laura have probably mentioned, they would be awesome on the playa) Next time I will insist on having the address of where I am staying before I depart as wandering the streets of Bangkok alone in the middle of the night was not the smartest thing for young Jenny to do, despite all the people.

As for other things I remember:

A homeless man in Bangkok crying real tears as he begged for change.

My first sleepless night.

Being annoyed when my "Fried Shrimp" were actually crawdads with really gooey brains and innards.

The smell of sewage and orchids.

Hipster travelers in the guest house in Bangkok whom I regard with a mixture of envy and inquiry. Why do all travelers dress the same? Do dredlocks and embroidered clothing make you worldly? If they do then I'm halfway there because my hair is a gnarled and sticky mess...guess Dr. Bronner's miracle soap isn't great for everything.

The boat ride down the river in Ayuthaya(sp?) where I finally enjoyed a steady breeze, breathed smells that for once did not reek of the city and saw an exquisite blend of beauty and decay.

There is more to come for me, and for you.

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com