Diaryland

Other Diaries

Profile
Email
All EntriesLatest Entry



2007-11-17 - 7:05 p.m.

On April 21, 2004 I posted this diary entry about my editor and friend, Cathy Schutz:

My boss is wearing a multi-colored feather boa at her desk.

She has cancer.

This is what she does to keep herself going on days when radiation makes her tired and the thought of dealing with the disease again (this is the second time she's been diagnosed) looms just a little too dark over her head.

Comparatively my problems are sort of trivial.

I hope that I will one day have the same type of courage when I need it.

Cathy died today. She was at home with her partner Alan at her side. I feel sure that's how she would have wanted it. She was 59. She is the third person I've loved who has died of cancer. I'm tired of people I love dying of cancer.

Both my parents are cancer survivors, and I know this is a blessing. But it doesn't take away any of the sting of losing another friend, particularly one I admired as much as Cathy.

I posted another diary entry about Cathy on February 13, 2004:

This morning there was a finding Nemo valentine and a heart-shaped chocolate on my desk from my boss.

She gets valentines for us every year and they are always little kid-style.

Yesterday I went into her office and told her something and she waved her hands around her head and said "YAAAAAAY!" Then she paused and said, "I'm just never going to grow up now am I?"

"Thank god for that," I replied.

This is how I will always remember her.

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com