Diaryland

Other Diaries

Profile
Email
All EntriesLatest Entry



2002-10-22 - 3:34 p.m.

update on weekend events:

Friday: Adam came over for dinner and faced the gauntlet of my parents house, successfully navigating his way through mind-numbing conversations about the gradation of gravel on the driveway with wit, charm and grace. Then it was off to a potluck at Katy's, I brought pears and figs poached in red wine with spices and ice cream. We schmoozed with friends and drank oddly piquant fresh mint tea. Then it was time to leave to make it to Rachel's birthday party and stare at the luscious ice cream cake that neither of us had room for anymore. After witnessing 12-year-old Dance Party USA, we opted to go home and be warm and sleepy.

Saturday: At noon I am startled out of slovenly sleep by the phone. Damn! I'm late to meet up with Alora-Dream! I get to her place around 2pm and we spend the afternoon touring SF Open Studios. For those of you who've never heard of Open Studios, every weekend for the month of October artists from different parts of the city invite random strangers into their homes/studios, let them stare at their work and answer their really silly questions. As a bonus, most of the artists will feed you snacks and drinks while you rub your hands all over their private possessions and peer into their closets. Anyone who has never experienced Open Studios is missing out on a golden opportunity to eat goldfish tiny crackers and learn something about the creative process...just go, dammit!! At one of the studios Laura and I got free hand puppets. She got a lamb and I got a frog, and we spent the rest of the evening talking to each other via puppet...I have learned quickly that nearly any event is about a hundred times cooler if you get to do it with Laura. After open studios we did some shoppy wandering around Haight and gorged on some much-needed noodles and sake before heading back to her place to make fun of celebrities in magazines and wait for Adam to arrive.

Then it was off to the Marrvelous Katthouse for a pre-decompression sleepover. Most of the night was spent cozily lounging around on pillows with Ash, Skot, Andie, Justin, Dave, Sunshine, Boris, and Adam, watching movies and eating popcorn.

Sunday: In the morning I watched all my cute friends wander around brushing teeth and combing hair and drinking coffee and to top it off, Justin brought us hot, greasy, bacon to be eaten right in our sleeping bags...glorious. Once awake, I had to figure out some logistical details about the interview I had scheduled with Underworld. Issues resolved, Adam graciously accompanied me to the hotel and leant me his mini-disc so I could record the whole thing. Once I got over feeling nervous, it was fun to chat about music and learn more about the band's plans for the future. The tour manager offered to set me up with two tickets for the show that night, "Heck yeah!" We high-tailed it to Decompression with plans to go to the show later that night. Decompression brought lots of familiar faces and fun activities. It's always good to remember that the community you love is going strong, both on and off the playa. Next time I will remember to bring mittens, a hat, and a picnic to share. I particularly enjoyed seeing all of my SF friends for a second time in the same weekend. Living an hour away makes these occurances rare, and I wish they could happen more often.

We left Decompression early to make it to the Underworld show, but when we arrived there was only one ticket reserved under my name. Neither of us had the money to spend on an extra ticket and we left without seeing the show. Luckily, we ran into Laura as we were picking up Adam's car and she invited us in for tea and Jenga. We started the Jenga Masters League by creating the tallest Jenga tower in history...or at least one that we were all impressed with. There is something about being at home on a Sunday night with a hot beverage and some friends that makes the world seem like a better place. I am now hoping to end all of my weekends with Adam, Laura, tea and Jenga. The drive home was long, and I did my best to pace Adam the whole way because I secretly missed him...being a whole lane away and all. Bed felt good, if just a little cold, and I tried to prep for my interview the next morning by reading with one eye and sleeping with the other. In the end, the sleepy eye convinced the other one to join her, and the night was deep, quiet, and dreamless.

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com