Diaryland

Other Diaries

Profile
Email
All EntriesLatest Entry



2003-02-20 - 2:16 p.m.

I had this boyfriend once that didn't like to try new things. He figured he'd done most of 'em already. He didn't really want to hear new music or meet new people or taste new foods. Whenever we went out to eat he'd always order the same thing: chicken, as plain as possible. For the first three years of our five year relationship he wouldn't drink smoothies because he thought they were gross. He had never tried one. One day he came home with fantastic news: "Smoothies are good!" he said, with an Al Gore intonation of "I discover/invented smoothies." I was annoyed with his arrogance but pleased that we could finally go and get smoothies together. But soon I learned that "smoothie" to him meant strawberries and bananas and nothing more. No raspberries, blueberries, pineapple or spirulina. Strawberry-banana was the only possible combination and nothing else would do. So he would order his smoothie and I would explore the menu, I never ordered strawberries in my drinks because strawberries were stupid. Raspberries were a much better choice and for another year and a half all my smoothies contained raspberries, just to piss him off. After we broke up I nixed the unspoken no-strawberry rule and have been ordering some orange/straw/ban/eggplant/porkchop hybrid ever since because I was a little tired of raspberries. Until today when I ordered a razzamatazz TM for lunch. It's not very good and I'm sad because now I don't know if I ever liked raspberry smoothies or if I was just tired of my boring boyfriend and his boring strawberries.

perhaps I go just a bit too far to prove a point...to myself.

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com