Diaryland

Other Diaries

Profile
Email
All EntriesLatest Entry



2003-02-27 - 11:22 a.m.

I'm sad about Mr. Rogers.

I don't remember much about his show, even though it was one of the few television shows I was permitted to watch.

The thing I remember most is his sweaters. They were just like my grandpa's sweaters, cardigans in a variety of colors. I liked the blue one best, not the dark one but the one that looks like the sky.

Mr. Rogers would take his sweaters off and put them back on over and over again. There is something sort of comforting about that repetition.

I liked the "Please Won't You Be My Neighbor" song and I liked it when Mr. Rogers tied his shoes. I didn't like the puppets much, they were scary.

One of my co-workers was Mr. Rogers REAL neighbor in Pittsburgh. He is in one of her prom pictures. She says that he always passed out regular-sized candy bars on Halloween, not the "fun" sized ones.

My mom always said she liked Mr. Rogers because he had a calming effect on children unlike Sesame Street which built short attention spans.

I liked him because, like I said, the shoelaces and the sweaters, but I also liked the idea that he was out there making friends with his neighbors: going out into the world and trying to be nice.

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com