Diaryland

Other Diaries

Profile
Email
All EntriesLatest Entry



2004-01-05 - 1:58 p.m.

RAWk Hard!

As of today I'm going raw.

No more use of that gratuitous thing called "heat," no siree.

I'm eating veggies, I'm eating fruit, I'm eating...nut butter.

For one month I will not consume anything that has been heated above 118 degrees. Or was that 116 degrees? Hmmm.

No bread, no pasta, no meat, no cheese.

No roasting, baking, broiling, sauteeing or braising -- just eating.

Why am I doing this?

Well, I'd like to tell you that I'm an incredible employee with unending dedication to my profession since the impetus for this adventure was the food story I am writing on the subject.

But really I'm just incredibly curious and I enjoy conducting scientific experiments on my body.

Experiment Day !:

This morning I downed a 2.5 ounce cuplet of wheatgrass juice and a 16 ounce cup of orange/carrot juice from the world-famous Yamba Hweece. I also bought another raw food cookbook so I can make raw butternut squash soup and raw "BLTs." (No bacon, don't worry. Actually, please do worry.)

I'm a little depressed because juicers, dehydrators, blenders and food processors are necessities for this project and I, unfortunately, have none of these at my disposal...anyone want to donate theirs for a month?

I spent most of the morning reading the cookbook and thinking about lunch. This isn't particularly unusual for me since I think about eating all day every day anyway...but it would have been nice to get at least one thing done.

Lunch is a huge wad of baby spinach, chives, shredded carrot, raw cashews, pineapple, green beans, pear tomatoes, olive oil and curry powder. (The powers that be seem to have no qualms about toasted spices...I will not bring it to their attention.) It's really tasty...pineapple and curry rock and everything else is just crunchy and green and tumbling off the juice-soaked paper plate.

I'm also having a side dish of endive leaves with guacamole.

I'm surprisingly full and I figure that I'll be able to survive as long as I can slather everything I eat with guacamole.

I'm vaguely worried that I'm going to want something hot soon so I've decided to drink tea, even if its bending the rules a bit. I'll be damned if I spend the winter without consuming anything warm, especially since I can't use my heater.

Why am I doing this again?

Oh, right. Science.

Plus I have a few days when I'm guaranteed to fall off the wagon...I can't expect all of you to eat raw broccoli with me now can I? (Anyone want to?)

I give myself a week before I'm flinging myself against the doors at the Outback Steakhouse, pleading for a taste of good ol' red meat.

But until then you will only hear *Crunch crunch crunch* coming from this corner of the internet.

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com