Diaryland

Other Diaries

Profile
Email
All EntriesLatest Entry



2004-11-05 - 3:18 p.m.

Did I tell you that I interviewed Maya Angelou the other day?

Well, I did.

As I expected, she was fantastic/thrilling/intriguing/fun to talk to.

She has a new cookbook/memoir out and being the foodie-writer that I am it was very exciting to talk to her.

Plus, "I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings" was probably the first book I read that really affected me. I was probably about 12 when I first read it. She is most certainly the first author I ever cited as a favorite.

Her voice is deep, resonant and her laughter is easy. She cooks for her friends and family and says that people travel far and wide to eat her cooking.

Despite my charms, I was not invited to dinner.

But I still feel lucky that I got to speak to someone whom I admire so much and who makes such a difference in the worlds that matter to me: art, words, passion, life and damn good eats!

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com