Diaryland

Other Diaries

Profile
Email
All EntriesLatest Entry



2005-11-17 - 12:36 a.m.

Why all the emphasis on being happy?

What about learning? And growing? And making changes in the world?

And what if all us jaded hipsters stopped trying to fight the power and actually did some "normal" and "average" stuff like mow the lawn or watch reality television or fall in love with someone who has a "real" job.

Oh, wait. That's what all of us do anyway. We're all the same. No one is happier or sadder than anyone else.

Oh, wait. That's also not true. I myself am actually tremendously lucky and tremendously fortunate and tremendously, well, happy, in a way.

I guess the point is that happy isn't everything. Because I am making no difference in the world and being inside my head is like dropping a needle on a broken record:

"When did I stop.....????"

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com