Diaryland

Other Diaries

Profile
Email
All EntriesLatest Entry



2001-12-05 - 12:30 p.m.

this past weekend i went to see my friend Kristy in LA. it had been almost a year since i'd seen her and i was surprised at how easily we slipped into a comfortable dialogue. she constantly keeps me guessing, being so many things at once and yet entirely herself all of the time. we spent a lot of the weekend sleeping which was exactly what i needed after working at 5 am on friday and then driving to LA from work. i thought i would be able to resist the charms of los angeles, have been a nor-cal kid again for almost 2 years, but i admit to a funny feeling in the pit of my stomach for much of the weekend. the streets of los angeles seem more familiar to me than any of the streets i have grown up around. if i think of a city as a body, i suppose that los angeles is the only body i have truly inhabited on my own. i know what is ugly about it and i am not afraid of that ugliness. it is a part of me, and that makes me want to go back to it. at the same time, i want to inhabit other cities too. i desperately crave the ability/opportunity to face something on my own terms, without the protection or advice of too many other parties.

so. what do i do now?

i am not worried.

another great thing about the weekend was seeing a play my friend Erik had written called "Tonseisha" at a tiny little theater on Cahuenga called NOTE. i got to read and give input on some first drafts of his play a couple years ago so it was kind of exhilirating to see it produced and enjoy the finished product. i am in awe of his talent and eloquence. i spent most of the play with my mouth hanging slightly open and my toes clenched in my shoes. i wish i had gotten to see or talk to him. after all, he owes me a drink. i know so many talented people and am constantly amazed that they agree to be my friends. i suppose i am lucky.

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com